American invoicing in Spain
Thread poster: kcaiazza
kcaiazza
kcaiazza
Spanish to English
Dec 28, 2010

Hello,

I am just getting started and have a question.

I am an American but have many clients in Spain. Do I need to have an American business to invoice in Spain - one of my clients is an autonomo and needs invoices from me in order to submit for her taxes. Can she submit an invoice for services from an American? In general I wonder if it is better to open a business or just work freelance? Does this impact international clients in any way?

Many Thanks
... See more
Hello,

I am just getting started and have a question.

I am an American but have many clients in Spain. Do I need to have an American business to invoice in Spain - one of my clients is an autonomo and needs invoices from me in order to submit for her taxes. Can she submit an invoice for services from an American? In general I wonder if it is better to open a business or just work freelance? Does this impact international clients in any way?

Many Thanks!
Kate
Collapse

Steven Capsuto
Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 10:32
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
+ ...
A freelancer can invoice Spanish clients Dec 29, 2010

Spanish clients hire foreign freelance translators all the time. As I understand it from my customers in Spain, the invoice must indicate the client's name, address and NIF (tax ID number). As for your client's ability to deduct the expense: that's something your client will have to figure out on her own. I don't think that needs to be your concern, as long as you're submitting legit invoices.

Moving beyond the issues about this particular client:

Certain Spanish client
... See more