Annemarie Weijer
Annemarie Weijer  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 20:48
Dutch to German
+ ...
Feb 13, 2017

Hi,

As a translator in German I am a user of Wordfast Pro (version 4.10.2). Operating system is Windows 10. I am trying to get the German "Eszett" in a Wordfast document, but I do not succeed. I want to use the key combination ALT-s for the Eszett. Therefore, I have already changed in Wordfast the shortcut ALT-s in ALT-SHIFT-s, so the way for the wanted ALT-s combination is free. Is there a way in Wordfast to get the Eszett in the way I want to? If not, what should I do to succeed i
... See more
Hi,

As a translator in German I am a user of Wordfast Pro (version 4.10.2). Operating system is Windows 10. I am trying to get the German "Eszett" in a Wordfast document, but I do not succeed. I want to use the key combination ALT-s for the Eszett. Therefore, I have already changed in Wordfast the shortcut ALT-s in ALT-SHIFT-s, so the way for the wanted ALT-s combination is free. Is there a way in Wordfast to get the Eszett in the way I want to? If not, what should I do to succeed in getting the Eszett?

Who can help me?

Thanks in advance!

Annemarie
Collapse

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
Ask a pro Feb 13, 2017

Well, I don't know how to create the "Szet" in Wordfast 4 since I've just started using it myself. But you can always submit a support request to the WordFast team. They're really helpful.

But you can always replace it using "ss". Here in Germany, excl. Bavaria, I believe, they have already stopped using the "Szet" and replaced it with double "s" in many of the words, though not all.

[Edited at 2017-02-13 14:09 GMT]

Elke Adams
Elke Adams  Identity Verified
Germany
Dutch to German
+ ...
Hi Feb 13, 2017

try this: https://www.lsa.umich.edu/german/hmr/schreiben/umlaute/umlaute_ASCII_html.html
Thayenga, "ss" is wrong in german (Germany)

[Bearbeitet am 2017-02-13 14:09 GMT]