Copyright and royalty issues in literary translation
Thread poster: literarynewbie
literarynewbie
literarynewbie
United Kingdom
Oct 7, 2015

Hi everyone,

I've just received my first contract to translate a book into English.

It's my first time venturing into literary translation and I have a couple of questions for you all about my contract. I'm happy with the fee I've been offered and have managed to negotiate royalties on the net proceeds of all e-books sold too, which I appreciate is something not to be sniffed at!

However, one of the terms of the contract stipulates that the author (who is
... See more
Hi everyone,

I've just received my first contract to translate a book into English.

It's my first time venturing into literary translation and I have a couple of questions for you all about my contract. I'm happy with the fee I've been offered and have managed to negotiate royalties on the net proceeds of all e-books sold too, which I appreciate is something not to be sniffed at!

However, one of the terms of the contract stipulates that the author (who is self-published) will have all rights to the translation. Is this standard? Is it to be understood that in exchange for my fee and the royalties I'm giving up my copyright? As a complete newbie to these things I'd appreciate any information or advice you can offer!

Also, while the contract states that I'm entitled to a certain percentage of the net proceeds of all e-books sold, it explicitly states that I won't be paid royalties for sales of the book in another format (paperback etc). Any thoughts/advice on this?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)
Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 03:46
English to Thai
+ ...
WIPO Copyright Treaty (WCT) Aug 27, 2016

literarynewbie wrote: