Thread poster: Stéphanie Bellumat
Stéphanie Bellumat
Stéphanie Bellumat
Local time: 14:56
English to French
+ ...
May 24, 2007

Dear all,

Today, I have been approached by a Canadian publishing firm who is looking for translators to translate several books ranging from 10,000 to 100,000 words on nutrition, spirituality, youth, etc.
They are offering CAD$0.09 per word with payment at 60 days after delivery.

I have 15 years of experience in technical translation, and I usually get a rate of CAD$0.18 to CAD$0.20 per word from Canadian agencies.

Since I have no experience at all
... See more
Dear all,

Today, I have been approached by a Canadian publishing firm who is looking for translators to translate several books ranging from 10,000 to 100,000 words on nutrition, spirituality, youth, etc.

I have 15 years of experience in technical translation, and I usually get a rate of CAD$0.18 to CAD$0.20 per word from Canadian agencies.

Since I have no experience at all in literary translation, I am wondering if this is a fair and acceptable rate, and if it is reasonable to think that I will be able to translate this twice as fast as the technical assignments I usually get?!

Thank you all for your input.

Stephanie
Collapse

Heidi C
Heidi C  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:56
English to Spanish
+ ...
literary vs. technical May 24, 2007

Stephanie Bellumat wrote:

Dear all,

Since I have no experience at all in literary translation, I am wondering if this is a fair and acceptable rate, and if it is reasonable to think that I will be able to translate this twice as fast as the technical assignments I usually get?!

There should be no difference in payment between technical and literary translation!

I would accept a lower rate for a literary translation because I love it, and there isn't that much demand. But that would be MY decision. The texts would have to be interesting and fun, preferably well written, and it should be a large enough amount to make it worth my time.