Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Translation rates (UK): working directly with clients, and working with agencies.
Thread poster: Dariush Robertson
Dariush Robertson
Dariush Robertson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:27
Chinese to English
Mar 16, 2012

Hello,

I've just started my career as a freelance translator in the UK, and have some concerns over what I should be charging. I'd just like to state that I have an MA and a Diploma in Translating Chinese into English. I know this doesn't make me brilliant or anything, but I just want to clarify that I have invested a lot of time and thought into my career as a freelancer, and hope to start as professionally as possible.

I've read that it's a good idea to put translatio
... See more
Hello,

I've just started my career as a freelance translator in the UK, and have some concerns over what I should be charging. I'd just like to state that I have an MA and a Diploma in Translating Chinese into English. I know this doesn't make me brilliant or anything, but I just want to clarify that I have invested a lot of time and thought into my career as a freelancer, and hope to start as professionally as possible.

I've read that it's a good idea to put translation rates on your CV. However, I'm not sure whether I should put the rate that I'd expect if I was working directly with clients, the rate I'd expect if I was working through an agency, or both?

Please correct me if I am wrong, but when working directly with clients in the UK the normal rate per thousand words should be about 90 - 110 GBP, right? I've also heard that when working with agencies the rates tend to be lower, around about 60 - 70 GBP per 1000 words. My problem is I don't know if I should write down two different rates on my CV, one for agencies, and one for clients, or if I should do something else?

Thank you.
Collapse

Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 17:27
German to Swedish
+ ...
Custom CV:s Mar 16, 2012