Georgia Gray
Georgia Gray
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:01
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 1, 2017

Hello everyone,

I am a UK-based freelance translator working exclusively with agencies in Spain. One client is complaining that they can no longer pay me if I am not registered with VIES (I have worked with them for nearly 2 years and this has not been an issue). They told me that the system in Spain is changing and that it will be impossible for them to make the payments, although none of my other clients has mentioned this. Apparently they will not be able to pay me the money they
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am a UK-based freelance translator working exclusively with agencies in Spain. One client is complaining that they can no longer pay me if I am not registered with VIES (I have worked with them for nearly 2 years and this has not been an issue). They told me that the system in Spain is changing and that it will be impossible for them to make the payments, although none of my other clients has mentioned this. Apparently they will not be able to pay me the money they owe me (around 7,000 euros) because of this. I told them that I do not need to pay VAT in the UK and therefore I am not VAT-registered, but they said this did not matter, although my point of contact later admitted that their accountant has no idea how the system works in the UK and that I should get an accountant myself in order to resolve this. However since I am not being paid I would rather avoid this extra expense if not necessary.

My questions are the following:
- Is it true that they will not be able to pay me, or are they playing safe to avoid potential problems?
- If I register with VIES, what happens? Will I end up paying VAT that I wouldn't otherwise be paying?

Thanks in advance!
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
They have to pay you for work you've done Jun 2, 2017

Georgia Gray wrote:
My questions are the following: