Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Client is accusing me of using Google Translate and now won't pay, what rights do I have?
Thread poster: Rebecca Metcalfe
Rebecca Metcalfe
Rebecca Metcalfe  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 05:34
Spanish to English
Jul 13, 2017

Hi all,

As an emerging student translator (post-grad, Spanish), I have been bidding for small translation jobs on Upwork. They are very underpaid, but given the fact I am still learning and a translation student, I have been happy to accept the small fee for experience.

However, I now have a problemt. I have completed a small job (1300) words for a client (a clinical trial). They are now refusing to pay as they are accusing me of submitting a post-edited Google Trans
... See more
Hi all,

As an emerging student translator (post-grad, Spanish), I have been bidding for small translation jobs on Upwork. They are very underpaid, but given the fact I am still learning and a translation student, I have been happy to accept the small fee for experience.

However, I now have a problemt. I have completed a small job (1300) words for a client (a clinical trial). They are now refusing to pay as they are accusing me of submitting a post-edited Google Translate translation. They said that they have run their original Spanish document through Google translate and that it is very similar to mine. Although they are saying that they are not identical. They initially stated in the contract that they did not want a post-edited machine translation. Before I confirmed I would do the job, I confirmed that I would not use MT but would however be using a CAT tool to assist with my translation, to which they did not object.

Now they refuse to pay (my measley $30!) because their in-house team has had to "edit" my copy "significantly". They also state that as I used a CAT tool, becuase they had stated no MT was to be used, that I am in breach of the contract. I have explained the difference between CAT tool and MT.