Thread poster: Serename
Serename
Serename
Belgium
Local time: 20:17
English to French
+ ...
Aug 19, 2017

Hi all. I am a new member. I haven't been in the translation business for years and I need to prepare a quote for translating a book, which I've never done before. Can someone give me advice on how much I should charge and what a reasonable deadline is to finish such a project (weeks? months?)? Translation is from English into French, word count is 52,000, genre and secondary genre are Fiction and Drama. Thank you so much. Have a nice weekend all!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 20
... See more
Hi all. I am a new member. I haven't been in the translation business for years and I need to prepare a quote for translating a book, which I've never done before. Can someone give me advice on how much I should charge and what a reasonable deadline is to finish such a project (weeks? months?)? Translation is from English into French, word count is 52,000, genre and secondary genre are Fiction and Drama. Thank you so much. Have a nice weekend all!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2017-08-21 00:37 GMT]
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:17
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
How long is a piece of string? Aug 21, 2017

Serename wrote:
Can someone give me advice on how much I should charge and what a reasonable deadline is to finish such a project (weeks? months?)? Translation is from English into French, word count is 52,000, genre and secondary genre are Fiction and Drama.

Sorry, but these are very much "piece of string" questions. Rate will depend partly on (non-exhaustive list in no particular order):
- How much you think your time is worth as a freelancer (which is NOT the same as a wage, for many reasons)
- How much you need to earn per hour (see http://www.proz.com/translator-rates-calculator/ for some help)
- How much other clients are willing to pay for your time