Martin_Bragalon
Martin_Bragalon
Japan
Local time: 00:39
Japanese to English
+ ...
Apr 3, 2017

Hi fellow translators,

I am new to CAT tools. I only have some experience with online CAT tools like SMART CAT.

A new client has asked me to use Trados and are sending me files in .sdlxliff format.

I cannot download them at all to my understanding unless I have translation tool like Omega T.

At the moment, I cannot afford to invest in Trados or I would prefer not to. I am trying to get out some credit card debt from last year and I would si
... See more
Hi fellow translators,

I am new to CAT tools. I only have some experience with online CAT tools like SMART CAT.

A new client has asked me to use Trados and are sending me files in .sdlxliff format.

I cannot download them at all to my understanding unless I have translation tool like Omega T.

At the moment, I cannot afford to invest in Trados or I would prefer not to. I am trying to get out some credit card debt from last year and I would simply not be able to afford to pay out for the current Trados studio. Secondly, this new client pays bi-monthly. Although the salary for this job is quite decent I think (around 3K to 5K USD), I still have to wait until June before being able to pay off this purchase if I were to get Trados. And with this being a completely new client, I am already taking on enough of a risk to just do the job without also taking on the financial risk in case they do not pay in the end (been burned in the past...how I got into some debt in the first place).

Thus I opted for Omega T. I went through the tutorials and the manual and downloaded it. I also got Apache OpenOffice to help me convert files to .odt.

So far, Omega T cannot read anything I have in my files. I cannot read .pdf, .doc, .docx, .sdlxliff, nor .odt....

Assuming I should continue on with Omega T, how do I make it so I can start this project and open up docs..?