Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is ProZ.com membership worth it?
Thread poster: parolagiusta
parolagiusta
parolagiusta
Local time: 11:12
Italian to English
May 27, 2013

I am new to Proz so please excuse me if my questions/comments are out of line. I am evaluating whether or not to become a full member. I've been following the job offers posted for my language pairs and applying for some of them. What I've seen several times and that I find discouraging are requests for the translation of legal-medical-technical texts for prices that are "lower than 80%.....". The low rates are quoted in dollars, which would be even lower in Euros. Yet, these outsourcers are Pro... See more
I am new to Proz so please excuse me if my questions/comments are out of line. I am evaluating whether or not to become a full member. I've been following the job offers posted for my language pairs and applying for some of them. What I've seen several times and that I find discouraging are requests for the translation of legal-medical-technical texts for prices that are "lower than 80%.....". The low rates are quoted in dollars, which would be even lower in Euros. Yet, these outsourcers are Proz members. Isn't there a code of ethics? I cannot work for those rates and I feel that those who do are helping de-professionalize translation. Additionally, if the major part of jobs posted on Proz are with rates like I've seen so far, I don't think it's worth it for me to become a member!Collapse

Woodstock (X)
Woodstock (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
German to English
+ ...
I've been a paying member since 2005 May 27, 2013