Practical questions about posting a web site translation job
Thread poster: zoodal
zoodal
zoodal
Australia
Local time: 03:41
Mar 15, 2017

Hello,

I am a software developer that has a website ready for translation.

The website will make resumes and cover letters for users.

I have a .po file with a word count of 26,578 words.

I am wanting to translate the website from English (US) to French (France), German (Germany), Italian (Italy) and Spanish (Spain).

This is the first time I am translating a website, so I am rather unsure about the procedure. I have read a lot abou
... See more
Hello,

I am a software developer that has a website ready for translation.

The website will make resumes and cover letters for users.

I have a .po file with a word count of 26,578 words.

I am wanting to translate the website from English (US) to French (France), German (Germany), Italian (Italy) and Spanish (Spain).

This is the first time I am translating a website, so I am rather unsure about the procedure. I have read a lot about translation, but I still have some questions.

My questions are:

1. Is there a way to confirm my .po file is ready to be translated or is this assessed by the chosen translator?

2. Is it best to have the .po file blank and ask the translator to translate from scratch or provide a machine translation .po file and ask the translator for post editing?

3. What are the cost savings /extras for requesting post editing of a machine translation .po file?

4. Can I ask that the selected translator to proof read the website pages when the translation is complete?

5. What is the rate to proof read a translated website?

Thanks,

Matt.
Collapse

Sergei Leshchinsky
Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 20:41
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
... Mar 16, 2017

1. Standard .po file as is is usually ready to be translated.