Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Clients asking for an annual commission?
Thread poster: Rebecca Reid
Rebecca Reid
Rebecca Reid
United States
Local time: 09:28
French to English
Mar 10, 2020

This is my first post on here. I'm a French-English translator, British but working from the USA.
I'm interested in knowing if anyone else has come up against this situation. In a nutshell, I've been working for one client - a large company in the service field - for 20 years now and have really good relationships with their staff. However, in 2012 they came up with a "new scheme"... They created a group of "preferred service providers" of which I was one, and we had to sign a contract. Sa
... See more
This is my first post on here. I'm a French-English translator, British but working from the USA.
I'm interested in knowing if anyone else has come up against this situation. In a nutshell, I've been working for one client - a large company in the service field - for 20 years now and have really good relationships with their staff. However, in 2012 they came up with a "new scheme"... They created a group of "preferred service providers" of which I was one, and we had to sign a contract. Same rates as before except now we had to pay back a commission on the amount of business they "brought" us each year. It was 2% or 3% depending on the amount of revenue. I wasn't too happy about this because I was already making a lot of effort for them (hadn't raised my rates in 10 years at that point), but that sounded like a small percentage so I signed. Then I started getting the demands for "remuneration" the following year at a time when I was already dealing with income tax, real estate tax etc. etc. Anyway, I paid it for maybe 3 years and then they stopped asking. I thought thank heavens and figured maybe it was because of a new government law that meant they had to pay me within 45 days, which had previously been one of the "bonuses" I got for being a preferred provider.