Thread poster: RafaLee
RafaLee
RafaLee
Australia
Local time: 16:11
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 2, 2003

I am doing double degree in math and finance and International studies and currently studying in Spain as a part of my International Studies degree.

I just found out my passion of translating after I studied here and I would love to pursue a career as a translator.

I grew up in Indonesia and I moved to Australia six years ago. So my native language is Indonesian and I am very fluent in English, as I do not need bilingual English Indonesian dictionary anymore.
My t
... See more
I am doing double degree in math and finance and International studies and currently studying in Spain as a part of my International Studies degree.

I just found out my passion of translating after I studied here and I would love to pursue a career as a translator.

I grew up in Indonesia and I moved to Australia six years ago. So my native language is Indonesian and I am very fluent in English, as I do not need bilingual English Indonesian dictionary anymore.
My third language is Spanish. I can understand spoken Mandarin, as my parents speak Mandarin. I also understand basic Russian. I have also got a familiarity with slavic, greek and turkish grammar.

Which language should I focus on ??
I also would love to know the market situation for translators in Australia.

Thanks a lot.

Rafa Lee
ps. I will come back to Australia next year.
Collapse

Kemal Mustajbegovic
Kemal Mustajbegovic  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:11
English to Croatian
+ ...
Indonesian - English Jun 2, 2003

With your language combinations Indonesian - English and having Spanish as a source language as well I would say You'll have a lot of opportunities Down Under. Stick to it.

And with double degree in maths and finances - Bob's Your Uncle.

Cheers!

Paul Lambert
Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:11
French to English
+ ...
I agree Jun 2, 2003