Arturo Mannino  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:20
Member (2003)
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 3, 2003

Hi,

I'm a freelance translator based in Barcelona, Spain. I'm trying to extend my activity to other countries, but till now I could'n find any reliabe information on the way you should invoice clients who reside abroad, i.e.:
1. which tax policy apllies, the one of the country in which the translator resides or the one of the client's country?
2. which is the best way to accept payments? Bank transfer, Western Union, PayPal, credit card or what else?
Thanks for you
... See more
Hi,

I'm a freelance translator based in Barcelona, Spain. I'm trying to extend my activity to other countries, but till now I could'n find any reliabe information on the way you should invoice clients who reside abroad, i.e.:
1. which tax policy apllies, the one of the country in which the translator resides or the one of the client's country?
2. which is the best way to accept payments? Bank transfer, Western Union, PayPal, credit card or what else?
Thanks for your help
Collapse

Agua
Agua  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Just my experience... Jul 3, 2003

Hello,

You pay your taxes in the country you reside in, so you pay them in Spain. Having said that, for countries outside Spain, and, in the EU, provided they have a VAT number, you just prepare the invoice with the total due, no taxes up or down. Then you pay your quarterly taxes, etc.

2. which is the best way to accept payments? Bank tra
... See more
Hello,

You pay your taxes in the country you reside in, so you pay them in Spain. Having said that, for countries outside Spain, and, in the EU, provided they have a VAT number, you just prepare the invoice with the total due, no taxes up or down. Then you pay your quarterly taxes, etc.