Annabelle Larousse (X)
Annabelle Larousse (X)  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 16:04
French to English
+ ...
May 8, 2009

Dear Friends--
I am new to the field of translation with little experience in it. However, I have a French novel which is dear to my heart and is still untranslated, and I would like to undertake the project. Brave or foolish, you decide.
What I would like to know, if anyone can tell me, is who to approach to moot the idea: the French publisher, an English-language publisher, a literary agent, a psychiatrist?
If anyone could give me help with this question, or if you wish to
... See more
Dear Friends--
I am new to the field of translation with little experience in it. However, I have a French novel which is dear to my heart and is still untranslated, and I would like to undertake the project. Brave or foolish, you decide.
What I would like to know, if anyone can tell me, is who to approach to moot the idea: the French publisher, an English-language publisher, a literary agent, a psychiatrist?
If anyone could give me help with this question, or if you wish to make suggestions on any other matter pertaining to the translation of novels, or if you can tell me where I can go to find information in this area, I would be most grateful.
I know nothing about the process involved in getting a novel published in translation and am looking for helpful ideas wherever I can get them.
Many thanks, and wishing one and all the very best, Seneca the Duck (not my real name).

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-05-08 15:28 GMT]
Collapse

Tina Vonhof (X)
Tina Vonhof (X)
Canada
Local time: 10:04
Dutch to English
+ ...
Step by step May 8, 2009