Thread poster: dmtrad
dmtrad
dmtrad
Local time: 13:35
English to French
+ ...
Dec 10, 2003

Hello,

I'm a freelance translator in France and I foresee to go to United-States. That's why I would like to know how the freelance system functions in the USA. Is it as complicated as in France?
Thank you for your answers
Have a good day

Gayle Wallimann
Gayle Wallimann  Identity Verified
Member (2004)
French to English
+ ...
Good luck! Dec 10, 2003

Unless you have family or some other sponsor, you will have a very difficult time getting a visa to live, let alone work, in the USA. The first thing to do is of course contact the US embassy or consulate, whichever is closest to you. Did you see the previous post on the subject? Here is the link. http://www.proz.com/?sp=bb/new&ViewTopic&post=26826#26826

It will
... See more
Unless you have family or some other sponsor, you will have a very difficult time getting a visa to live, let alone work, in the USA. The first thing to do is of course contact the US embassy or consulate, whichever is closest to you. Did you see the previous post on the subject? Here is the link. http://www.proz.com/?sp=bb/new&ViewTopic&post=26826#26826

It will take a lot of time to get a visa, so be patient. It took almost a year for my husband to get a green card to be able to immigrate to the US, but that was back in the 70's, so maybe things have changed. We only stayed for four years since it was easier for him to work in France (he is not a linguist!).
Anyway, good luck!

Gayle
Collapse

mbc
mbc
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
get informed in your home country Dec 11, 2003