Taboo subject?? How much should one charge for translation work?
Thread poster: Jamesw
Jamesw
Jamesw
Spain
Local time: 15:35
English to Spanish
+ ...
Mar 7, 2002

It seems a bit taboo because nobody has touched on this subject in this forum, so sorry if I step on anyones\' toes.

I\'d like to know how much one should charge for translation work. How should it be charged: by the word, by the hour or as a whole project?

As I am new to this I would appreciate any help. If someone wishes to, you can send me an email at [email protected]
... See more
It seems a bit taboo because nobody has touched on this subject in this forum, so sorry if I step on anyones\' toes.

I\'d like to know how much one should charge for translation work. How should it be charged: by the word, by the hour or as a whole project?

As I am new to this I would appreciate any help. If someone wishes to, you can send me an email at [email protected]

Thanks
Collapse

Henry Dotterer
Henry Dotterer
Local time: 10:35
SITE FOUNDER
Go to the 'money matters' section. Mar 7, 2002

Prices have been discusssed there.

Werner George Patels, M.A., C.Tran.(ATIO) (X)
Werner George Patels, M.A., C.Tran.(ATIO) (X)
Local time: 10:35
German to English
+ ...
Reply to James Mar 8, 2002

Some input (personal opinion):

- don\'t sell yourself short

- charge by the word; rates by the hour may lead to haggling (\"I can\'t believe it took you 23 hours!\"). Rates based on the word count are more objective and reliable. Many clients have very little knowledge of our work; charging them for the total number of words is something they can more easily relate to.

- set your rates at a level that you are comfortable with (taking
... See more
Some input (personal opinion):

- don\'t sell yourself short