Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Translation tools - which one is the best one to invest in?
Thread poster: Rikke Schimscha
Rikke Schimscha
Rikke Schimscha
Local time: 11:13
English to Danish
+ ...
Mar 15, 2004

Hi all!
I have been doing translations for several years but have only just decided to try and make a living of it. I realise that in order to compete in the market and produce top-quality, efficient translation work, you need tools such as Trados, Wordfast, Transit, etc., but I cannot seem to figure out which one is the best one to invest in in terms of quality/price/agency preference.
Any advice and sharing of experiences highly appreciated:-)

Thanks
Rikke

Jørgen Madsen
Jørgen Madsen  Identity Verified
English to Danish
+ ...
Trados! Mar 15, 2004

It's expensive but industry standard.
In my opinion, you cannot do without it.
Mvh Jørgen

Johanna Timm, PhD
Johanna Timm, PhD  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 02:13
English to German
+ ...
Check the "smart shoppers" section Mar 15, 2004

where you will find some useful info,e.g.
http://www.proz.com/topic/16386

or have a look at the TOOLS menu, where you will find the "CAT" center :
http://www.proz.com/?sp=cat/index

or compare various tools at the CAT fight sec
... See more
where you will find some useful info,e.g.
http://www.proz.com/topic/16386

or have a look at the TOOLS menu, where you will find the "CAT" center :
http://www.proz.com/?sp=cat/index

or compare various tools at the CAT fight section:
http://www.proz.com/?sp=cat/compare

Good luck,
johanna

[Edited at 2004-03-16 03:01]

[Edited at 2004-03-16 03:04]
Collapse

Mónica Machado
Mónica Machado
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:13
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Try asking that to the companies you work with Mar 15, 2004

Hello,