New to ProZ and translation. Any advice for newbies?
Thread poster: Dorian Kenleigh
Dorian Kenleigh
Dorian Kenleigh
United States
Local time: 04:38
Japanese to English
Apr 23, 2004

Hello,

I'm a masters student struggling to pay bills, and thought that I might be able to make some money off of freelance translation work. After some web browsing, I ended up here and I have to say I'm overwhelmed by how difficult it seems to get established. I have a few months experience as a sattelite translator doing patents for a Japanese company. Unfortunately, they have no further use for my services and I'm out without much experience or background (the prior job was f
... See more
Hello,

I'm a masters student struggling to pay bills, and thought that I might be able to make some money off of freelance translation work. After some web browsing, I ended up here and I have to say I'm overwhelmed by how difficult it seems to get established. I have a few months experience as a sattelite translator doing patents for a Japanese company. Unfortunately, they have no further use for my services and I'm out without much experience or background (the prior job was found through a FOAF).

I see a lot of translators here using CAT- which I assume means Computer Aided Translation- tools, and many potential employers demanding things such as uncleaned files, etc.

Though I'm supposedly an engineer, I wasn't quite expecting this level of technology. When I worked previously, I did everything in MS Word through an IME and relied on my Japanese knowledge and a good dictionary to function. Are CAT tools a necessity to work as a translator? Can someone kindly educate me in the technical language of the translation game?