Thread poster: Christina Fonthes (X)
Christina Fonthes (X)
Christina Fonthes (X)
Local time: 04:45
French to English
+ ...
Nov 28, 2011

Hello,

I have a been asked to translate and transcribe two short videos (about 2 mins each) from Congo. As it is something I have never done before I want to make sure I am getting the correct rate. The videos are conversations taking placing in the market so there is a lot of background noise, I suspect the work will take me a day for each video.
The rate is £3 per audio minute.

Is this the correct rate for this type of work?

Many than
... See more
Hello,

I have a been asked to translate and transcribe two short videos (about 2 mins each) from Congo. As it is something I have never done before I want to make sure I am getting the correct rate. The videos are conversations taking placing in the market so there is a lot of background noise, I suspect the work will take me a day for each video.
The rate is £3 per audio minute.

Is this the correct rate for this type of work?

Many thanks in advance.
Collapse

kashew
kashew
France
Local time: 05:45
English to French
+ ...
Rate for transcription Nov 28, 2011

I think you should ask for a better rate. £15 for two days work is a laugh.
This sort of work can be very time consuming, I know from experience - backwards and forwards for hours on end.
Work out roughly how many words and apply a translator's rate e.g. £0.07 - 0.10 per word then double it is my suggestion.
Best of luck,
Kashew

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:45
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Rates and times Nov 28, 2011

Well, £3 per audio minute is too low, but what puzzles me is how you can take a whole day to transcribe/translate 2 mins of video.
1 minute of audio should take anything from 6 to 10 minutes to transcribe /translate if you do it in one step (i.e. write it in your target language).