How I became a translator - share your story
Thread poster: Babelworth
Babelworth
Babelworth
Congo, Democratic Republic
Local time: 10:49
English to French
Dec 19, 2011

When I was young I wanted to become an airline pilot and writer. 15 years ago, when I graduated from high school, I took English classes at the the U.S. Embassy’s language school in Kinshasa so that I could be able to study piloting in the U.S.
But, knowing that US visas were difficult to obtain and that I needed time to gather the money necessary for my project (a fortune), I decide to go to college meanwhile and study engineering. I was studying both in parallel, English as a Foreign
... See more
When I was young I wanted to become an airline pilot and writer. 15 years ago, when I graduated from high school, I took English classes at the the U.S. Embassy’s language school in Kinshasa so that I could be able to study piloting in the U.S.
But, knowing that US visas were difficult to obtain and that I needed time to gather the money necessary for my project (a fortune), I decide to go to college meanwhile and study engineering. I was studying both in parallel, English as a Foreign Language and Engineering.