Returning translator - advice on getting started?
Thread poster: Sidewayson
Sidewayson
Sidewayson  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
Jun 21, 2012

I worked as a translator 15-25 years ago, and since then have been working as an editor / writer. I want to get back into translating now, but I'm virtually starting from scratch, as no samples or customers have survived! I work from Spanish, Italian and French, and worked on a range of material including technical for motor industry and chemical companies, but am open to anything. Does anyone have any tips for getting my first piece of work?

Sarah Puchner
Sarah Puchner  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:22
French to English
Local associations, further education Jun 21, 2012

I was in your shoes recently too, except in the meantime, I moved to the US.

It's a very different profession now, given the use of CAT tools. I see from your profile that you have an impressive range of software , that's good!

For me, joining the American Translators Association (ATA) and my local chapter has helped me meet other translators and keep up with industry trends. I also decided to go back to school. Having a graduate qualification in translation has helped
... See more
I was in your shoes recently too, except in the meantime, I moved to the US.

It's a very different profession now, given the use of CAT tools. I see from your profile that you have an impressive range of software , that's good!

For me, joining the American Translators Association (ATA) and my local chapter has helped me meet other translators and keep up with industry trends. I also decided to go back to school. Having a graduate qualification in translation has helped boost my profile. As part of the course, I learnt about CAT tools and about the business aspects of being a translator. The course also included an internship, and some of my paid work has resulted from connections I made there.