Thread poster: HCProv
HCProv
HCProv
United States
Local time: 08:57
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 15, 2004

Hi, this may sound like a dumb question, but is TRADOS really a necessity when translating? If so, why? I always thought that clients preferred the non-usage of computer translation software. I've been a translator for many years, but have never used translation software. What is the advantage of using TRADOS? Also, I went to the TRADOS web page and saw just how expensive that program is. Is there another program comparable to TRADOS? Should I invest in TRADOS? Any suggestions? I feel p... See more
Hi, this may sound like a dumb question, but is TRADOS really a necessity when translating? If so, why? I always thought that clients preferred the non-usage of computer translation software. I've been a translator for many years, but have never used translation software. What is the advantage of using TRADOS? Also, I went to the TRADOS web page and saw just how expensive that program is. Is there another program comparable to TRADOS? Should I invest in TRADOS? Any suggestions? I feel pretty dumb right now! Also, how does one go about getting certified? Is there an agency I need to contact? I know, it's a lot of questions, but I really appreciate all your replies. Thanks!!Collapse

Marc P (X)
Marc P (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:57
German to English
+ ...
Trados - Is it really necessary? Jul 15, 2004

HCProv wrote:

is TRADOS really a necessity when translating?

No. Unless, that is, you have customers who insist on receiving and/or supplying files in one of TRADOS' proprietary file formats. Users of other CAT tools can probably give you more information than I can on whether they can replace TRADOS in this case.

I always thought that clients preferred the non-usage of computer translation software.