Theresa Trisolino
Theresa Trisolino  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 13:28
Italian to English
+ ...
Aug 29, 2012

Dear All

I have learnt so much from these forums over the last year or so - and especially in the last few months as I have been building up to launch as a freelance translator. Now it is my turn to ask a question...

My question is about certification - I have trawled the internet but cannot get a firm answer. Does the fact that I have a Diploma of Translation from the Institute of Linguists (in the UK) mean that I am certified? I feel like this is a very basic question
... See more
Dear All

I have learnt so much from these forums over the last year or so - and especially in the last few months as I have been building up to launch as a freelance translator. Now it is my turn to ask a question...

My question is about certification - I have trawled the internet but cannot get a firm answer. Does the fact that I have a Diploma of Translation from the Institute of Linguists (in the UK) mean that I am certified? I feel like this is a very basic question indeed but I hope that someone won't mind replying.

Thank you very much

Theresa
Collapse

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 08:28
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Being "certified" Aug 29, 2012

"Certified" simply means that some third party has taken upon itself to certify that you meet some standard, intended to reassure clients of your abilities.

Who that third party is makes all the difference in whether being "certified" means anything or not.

The IoL is an internationally recognized body with stringent standards, and their Diploma carries considerable weight and assurance to clients.

Most major countries have a recognized body that provides c
... See more
"Certified" simply means that some third party has taken upon itself to certify that you meet some standard, intended to reassure clients of your abilities.