Combining translation and copywriting - feedback needed
Thread poster: Michael Purvis
Michael Purvis
Michael Purvis  Identity Verified
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jan 30, 2013

Hello everyone,

I'm doing my masters in Translation right now and I'm taking a business class which helps us establish ourselves and encourages us to explore every possible avenue for work that there is. This week we were talking about copywriting and I was surprised to find that so many of the others in my class had already wound up taking on copywriting jobs while searching for freelance translation work. I know it's not the same job at all, but I suppose it does make sense that
... See more
Hello everyone,

I'm doing my masters in Translation right now and I'm taking a business class which helps us establish ourselves and encourages us to explore every possible avenue for work that there is. This week we were talking about copywriting and I was surprised to find that so many of the others in my class had already wound up taking on copywriting jobs while searching for freelance translation work. I know it's not the same job at all, but I suppose it does make sense that many translators might end up copywriting as well.

So, I was wondering if there's anybody out here on Proz who combines translating with copywriting? And if so, what advice can you give me? Is it worthwhile? And if so, how do I get started? Is there an equivalent to Proz in the world of copywriting?
Collapse

Edward Vreeburg
Edward Vreeburg  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 13:38
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
yes it's good Jan 30, 2013

to diversify yourself and see if in the world of languages, you'd rather be a translator, subtitler, interpreter, copywriter, editor, language teacher, technical writer, or something else... If you have multiple interest you can switch from one to the other depending on what's on offer... (or where you can make most money)