Translation test of +500 words. Should I have accepted it?
Thread poster: Andrea Diaz
Andrea Diaz
Andrea Diaz
Mexico
Local time: 05:34
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 13, 2014

Hello everyone. This is my first time asking for help in proz, so please bear with me.

I was recently contacted by a translation agency that required two 500+ words translation tests, Spanish to English and English to Spanish. I put the plus sign because part of the document was a a jpg file, so maybe it was a 800 words translation test.

I replied as politely as I could that I only do 250-300 words translation tests. More than that I charge my minimum rate, but I wou
... See more
Hello everyone. This is my first time asking for help in proz, so please bear with me.

I was recently contacted by a translation agency that required two 500+ words translation tests, Spanish to English and English to Spanish. I put the plus sign because part of the document was a a jpg file, so maybe it was a 800 words translation test.

I replied as politely as I could that I only do 250-300 words translation tests. More than that I charge my minimum rate, but I would be more than happy to do a 250-300 words version of the test. Furthermore, I only translate from English to Spanish since Spanish is my native language and I want to ensure the quality of my work. Then I attached a translation sample just in case.

A colleague put me in contact with the agency, so I know that they are trustworthy.

I haven't heard from them again, though I strongly suspect that they have contacted other former classmates of mine (thank you facebook). I'm still relatively new in the bussiness, so I can't afford to lose any potential clients. Should I have sucked up my pride as a newcomer? Thank you very much for your valuable input.

[Edited at 2014-05-14 14:20 GMT]

[Edited at 2014-05-14 14:28 GMT]
Collapse

Sandra Peters-Schöbel
Sandra Peters-Schöbel
Germany
Local time: 13:34
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...