https://www.proz.com/forum/getting_established/270058-thinking_of_starting_own_translation_business_and_need_some_guidance.html

Thinking of starting own translation business and need some guidance
Thread poster: Gattina1607 (X)
Gattina1607 (X)
Gattina1607 (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:17
English to German
+ ...
Jun 1, 2014

Hi everyone,

today I heard about this website and it immediately caught my interest. I'm a German/English and German/Spanish translator but am also an Executive Assistant working for one of Canada's largest banks. I speak 4 languages fluently and am thinking of starting my own business. Because of my daily commute to downtown Toronto and my 2 children it is really hard to juggle everything and it would be awesome if I could establish myself as a translator with some regular clients
... See more
Hi everyone,

today I heard about this website and it immediately caught my interest. I'm a German/English and German/Spanish translator but am also an Executive Assistant working for one of Canada's largest banks. I speak 4 languages fluently and am thinking of starting my own business. Because of my daily commute to downtown Toronto and my 2 children it is really hard to juggle everything and it would be awesome if I could establish myself as a translator with some regular clients so that I can build my own business and work from home.

How do I get started? How much would I charge for a business translation f.e. and how long does it usually take to find good trustworthy clients?

I don't want to give up my job at the bank as long as I don't have a steady income through translations. I have too many financial commitments to be able to do that right away but I'm willing to work evenings and weekends to start my business.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Daniela
Collapse

Phrase9
Phrase9  Identity Verified
South Africa
Arabic to English
Some tips Jun 2, 2014

Some thoughts: