Ally Stack
Ally Stack  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 00:15
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 19, 2014

Hi everyone,

I'm a certified Spanish/English translator and my native language is American English. I'm curious about if it's necessary to have a portfolio/samples before contacting direct clients and/or translation agencies for work? Since I am new to the translation industry, I don't have a lot of samples and I'm confused about where I could get samples. I have some prior experience in law firms mainly - a little in insurance. I read somewhere that it's good to have 200-300 wo
... See more
Hi everyone,

I'm a certified Spanish/English translator and my native language is American English. I'm curious about if it's necessary to have a portfolio/samples before contacting direct clients and/or translation agencies for work? Since I am new to the translation industry, I don't have a lot of samples and I'm confused about where I could get samples. I have some prior experience in law firms mainly - a little in insurance. I read somewhere that it's good to have 200-300 words of each sample and about 10 samples. But since I am thinking of starting with legal translations and I haven't done a lot of that and I would need to mainly translate from Spanish into English - I don't know where I could get legal documents/forms in Spanish without having actually worked on that many.

Also, how do you know what to specialize in? As of right now, I could specialize in legal translation. If I wanted to specialize in other fields, how do I know which one to pick if I haven't done a lot yet? Do I need to work on those particular translations before saying that I am specialized? Is it going to matter to the client to be specialized or not? Can you be specialized in more than one field? When you're starting out - how do you know which projects to take or which particular companies to contact? Should you work with different fields before you decide?