I want to translate books. How do I get started?
Thread poster: Augusto Pinheiro
Augusto Pinheiro
Augusto Pinheiro
Brazil
Local time: 22:33
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jun 23, 2014

Hi everyone!

I am a Brazilian translator (from English and Spanish into Portuguese) and I have over five years of experience translating educational material, websites and magazines. I would like to start translating books (preferably starting with non-fiction) and I don't know which is the best path. Is it sending my CV to publishing houses? Or do they work with translation agencies? I would be really thankful if someone could shed some light on it. I am really willing to follow th
... See more
Hi everyone!

I am a Brazilian translator (from English and Spanish into Portuguese) and I have over five years of experience translating educational material, websites and magazines. I would like to start translating books (preferably starting with non-fiction) and I don't know which is the best path. Is it sending my CV to publishing houses? Or do they work with translation agencies? I would be really thankful if someone could shed some light on it. I am really willing to follow this path.

Thank you very much!

Kind regards,

Augusti
Collapse

philgoddard
philgoddard
United States
German to English
+ ...
. Jun 23, 2014

If you have the choice between approaching publishers or translation companies, I'd say it's no contest because you can charge publishers a lot more.

That said, some translation companies do have good contacts with publishers and a steady stream of books. About three quarters of the books I've done have been for agencies.

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:33
Dutch to English
+ ...
Publishers Jun 23, 2014