Thread poster: Konstantin Stäbler
Konstantin Stäbler
Konstantin Stäbler  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:11
English to German
+ ...
Aug 19, 2014

I've been freelancing for almost six months now and have so far accumulated quite a range of free and trial version CAT tools and add-ins that were required by my clients. Recently I received another medium-sized job offer that would have required yet another CAT tool. This was one of the reasons why I turned it down since the thought of having to install another new program that I have to get familiar with wasn't very intriguing. Do you believe it is a good strategy to draw a line when you alre... See more
I've been freelancing for almost six months now and have so far accumulated quite a range of free and trial version CAT tools and add-ins that were required by my clients. Recently I received another medium-sized job offer that would have required yet another CAT tool. This was one of the reasons why I turned it down since the thought of having to install another new program that I have to get familiar with wasn't very intriguing. Do you believe it is a good strategy to draw a line when you already have a certain number of tools?Collapse

Charlotte Farrell
Charlotte Farrell  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:11
Member (2013)
German to English
+ ...
I only use one, and it's been enough Aug 19, 2014

I only work with MemoQ, as only working with one CAT tool is good for productivity as you don't have to keep getting into the swing of a new tool, and also because it is able to accept SDL packages made by Trados. I have had the occasional offer for a job using Across or another tool, but I have turned them down. Often if you just state that you work with tools x and y, the client will find a way to make it work.

Out of interest, which CAT tools do your clients ask you to use?

Konstantin Stäbler
Germany
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
the following... Aug 19, 2014