Royalties for proofreading a novel?
Thread poster: Diego Achío
Diego Achío
Diego Achío  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:48
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 19, 2014

So I have this client who wrote a book and he expects to publish it in Mexico. He wants me to proofread his book before sending it to the publisher as it is his first work and he is afraid they might reject it. Anyway, issue is he can't afford the proofreading, so he proposed paying with royalties.

I have never worked with royalties before, this is all I know about my situation:

- If the publisher rejects the book, he won't have money to pay me. Unless he publishes the
... See more
So I have this client who wrote a book and he expects to publish it in Mexico. He wants me to proofread his book before sending it to the publisher as it is his first work and he is afraid they might reject it. Anyway, issue is he can't afford the proofreading, so he proposed paying with royalties.

I have never worked with royalties before, this is all I know about my situation:

- If the publisher rejects the book, he won't have money to pay me. Unless he publishes the book on his own.
- I know publishers pay royalties to authors, usually between 5-15%. I guess I would have to ask for 1-3%
- Our deal would be completely independant to the publisher. Should we make a contract for ourselves?

My main doubts are: Is this deal something possible? Will I get in trouble with the publisher if they accept the book and sign a contract with the author?
Collapse

Rachel Waddington
Rachel Waddington  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 21:48
Dutch to English
+ ...
Don't do it Aug 19, 2014

Tell your client that if he wants the proofreading done he will just have to pay your professional fee for that service. Simple as that.

For one thing, the chances of there being any royalties to split sound pretty shaky to say the least.

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Danish to English
+ ...