Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
How to get started as a Translator - What do I need?
Thread poster: Adele Mc Donnell
Adele Mc Donnell
Adele Mc Donnell  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:51
English to French
Nov 24, 2014

Hello everybody,

I am starting my career as a translator. I graduated college (BA - Applied Languages) in May 2013.
I have a mentor through the ATA, I recently signed up to Proz.com...
I now have a MacBookAir computer and would like to know how to get started (what programs and materials I need, which websites have been helpful to you).
It seems like it isn't easy to get started. I have mainly translated for myself and a couple of other people for Immigration paper
... See more
Hello everybody,

I am starting my career as a translator. I graduated college (BA - Applied Languages) in May 2013.
I now have a MacBookAir computer and would like to know how to get started (what programs and materials I need, which websites have been helpful to you).
It seems like it isn't easy to get started. I have mainly translated for myself and a couple of other people for Immigration papers and it is hard to find clients when you don't have many references.

Thank you,
Adèle
Collapse

Dylan J Hartmann
Dylan J Hartmann  Identity Verified
Australia
Member (2014)
Thai to English
+ ...

So many variables! Nov 24, 2014

Just like any other job search, you have to put yourself out there!

Apply to a consistent number of agencies on a regular basis, quote on every job that you can, send emails, make networking connections, get a mentor on Proz, read as many guides as you can, don't give up!

Getting through the first year, and the following year after that are crucial to your longevity in this career. You'll build relationships and connections as well as gain enough knowledge of the indus
... See more
Just like any other job search, you have to put yourself out there!