Japanese - German - Getting started Questions
Thread poster: Armitagee
Armitagee
Armitagee
Japan
Dec 23, 2014

Good Evening or Morning.

I am a native German living in Japan.
My JLPT level is at the moment around level 2 and i think next year i will reach JLPT 1 and wish to take the test.
After that, i hope i can work as a translator.
But a few things worry me..

I dont have a University Degree and i am not sure that agencies accept me without it.
I wonder about the price per word when getting started.

My background is a lot of different
... See more
Good Evening or Morning.

I am a native German living in Japan.
My JLPT level is at the moment around level 2 and i think next year i will reach JLPT 1 and wish to take the test.
But a few things worry me..

I dont have a University Degree and i am not sure that agencies accept me without it.
I wonder about the price per word when getting started.

My background is a lot of different jobs in different countries.
Kind of like that.. nothing special.
At the moment i work for a agency.
But its more kind of very special work that anyone can do if he speaks proper German.
It runs over the Internet and i am used to keep my timelines and all this stuff.
Almost like a translator but only almost.
I checked a few homepages in the net and found on some German homepages of agencies written. That they are searching urgently Chinese, Japanese or Korean translators.
To me it seems, that its difficult to find Germans the speak this languages good enough.
Because of that i hoped that i would be easier to getting started then the English - German pair.

What are your opinions?

Thanks
Collapse

Aaron Schwarz
Aaron Schwarz
Japan
Local time: 02:52
Japanese to English
Here are my thoughts. Dec 24, 2014

Hello, Armitagee.

Here are my thoughts.

One thing about this you need to remember is that JLPT 1 doesn't really mean much.