No experience with translation, want to get established
Thread poster: KeithAStellyes
KeithAStellyes
KeithAStellyes
Local time: 04:46
Spanish to English
Jan 1, 2015

Hi, I'm looking into working in translation, but not as a career. However, I have no experience outside of Duolingo in translation, nor do I have any certifications. I live in the US if that's relevant.

What kind of certifications, volunteer translations/contributions should I be doing?

Thanks so much.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:46
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Not sure if I've addressed your query Jan 1, 2015

What exactly do you want to do, Keith, if you don't want to make it your career?

Are you saying you want to earn a few extra dollars away from your full-time job, or during your studies? If so, you'll have very little success and would do better with a little job that pays a wage. Translators are self-employed business people, and every one of those (translator or not) will tell you it takes time to build up a business. Then, when work arrives, deadlines are invariably tight (espec
... See more
What exactly do you want to do, Keith, if you don't want to make it your career?

Are you saying you want to earn a few extra dollars away from your full-time job, or during your studies? If so, you'll have very little success and would do better with a little job that pays a wage. Translators are self-employed business people, and every one of those (translator or not) will tell you it takes time to build up a business. Then, when work arrives, deadlines are invariably tight (especially for beginners). Combining translation with a part-time job to bring in a wage is a good way to begin, but the reverse doesn't work.