Freelancing in the US - Need to register anywhere?
Thread poster: Ben O
Ben O
Ben O  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 04:15
English to German
May 1, 2015

Hello all, I'm new to ProZ and wanted to say hi! I was also wondering if someone could give me some quick advice about one aspect of working in the US, or point me to the respective resources. I’ve been browsing the forums here but couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for.

I'm a German citizen and I’ve been working as an in-house translator for English to German in Canada (since late 2010). I recently moved to my wife in the US. Everything on the immigration side has been
... See more
Hello all, I'm new to ProZ and wanted to say hi! I was also wondering if someone could give me some quick advice about one aspect of working in the US, or point me to the respective resources. I’ve been browsing the forums here but couldn’t find exactly what I was looking for.

I'm a German citizen and I’ve been working as an in-house translator for English to German in Canada (since late 2010). I recently moved to my wife in the US. Everything on the immigration side has been sorted out, and I’m allowed to work as I please (just waiting for my SSN to be mailed to me).

Now my question is, in order to do freelance work in the US, do I have to register somewhere, like the IRS? Does any institution need to know what I’m doing for a living, or will I just have to file my income tax next year (possibly jointly with my spouse)? Or would I need to register as a “small business”?

Sorry if this is a silly concern, I just want to make sure there won’t be any unpleasant surprises down the road.
Thanks and have a great weekend everyone!
Collapse

Triston Goodwin
Triston Goodwin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:15
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nope :) May 1, 2015