Gaining initial experience in translation
Thread poster: Peter Kovacik
Peter Kovacik
Peter Kovacik  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:07
Arabic to English
Aug 17, 2015

I have been reading through the information on the website, and I would like to thank everyone for all of the helpful advice.

One question that I have not been able to find an answer for is whether it is necessary to have a certificate or master’s degree in Translation before entering the job market. I have a bachelor’s degree in Linguistics, and I wonder if further education is necessary to begin gaining experience as a freelance translator. Actually, I plan to do a formal
... See more
I have been reading through the information on the website, and I would like to thank everyone for all of the helpful advice.

One question that I have not been able to find an answer for is whether it is necessary to have a certificate or master’s degree in Translation before entering the job market. I have a bachelor’s degree in Linguistics, and I wonder if further education is necessary to begin gaining experience as a freelance translator. Actually, I plan to do a formal qualification in translation, but it would be nice to start working before graduation as many of the distance learning programs can take two or three years to complete.
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 09:07
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
The sooner you start, the better Aug 17, 2015

Peter Kovacik wrote:
Is it necessary to have a certificate or master’s degree in Translation before entering the job market?

No, you can enter the market with no qualifications whatsoever. However, some clients believe that higher qualifications make you a better translator, and some higher qualifications actually will make you a better translator. The best training a translator can get, however, is on-the-job training.