Getting started as a freelance interpreter: How to convince the employers without pro experience?
Thread poster: Mohammad Ghaffari
Mohammad Ghaffari
Mohammad Ghaffari  Identity Verified
Member (2019)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Mar 4, 2016

Hi everyone. I do not have any professional interpreting experience, and as a result, it seems that employers would not believe me that I can handle their job. On the contrary, I believe that I am qualified enough to interpret general business talks, at least; we had interpreting training at our university, and I was a good student, I believe. What can I do to prove the employers that I am capable of working with them?

[Edited at 2016-03-04 13:06 GMT]

Ricki Farn
Ricki Farn
Germany
Local time: 15:17
English to German
Do some pro bono gigs? Mar 4, 2016

Can you volunteer at some charitable organization who can then confirm your abilities?

Apart from that, if you have grades from your university classes, present them. If not, ask the teachers to write you (informal) evaluations?

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Free test translations? Mar 4, 2016

I don't do them anymore, but as starting translator it might be a way to proof yourself. One word of advice, be carefull they don't abuse you, that you end up working for for them for free. A normal test consists out of 200 to 250 words!

Furthermore, have patience. Building up a standard client base will take about 3 years.

[Edited at 2016-03-04 16:11 GMT]

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:17
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Employers? Mar 4, 2016