Abeer Azzyadi
Abeer Azzyadi
Saudi Arabia
Local time: 12:39
Arabic to English
+ ...
Apr 13, 2016

Hello

I am new here so I hope I'm posting this in the right forum.

I am a very good translator&interpreter and I've been working for almost 3 years now. I want to become a certified translator but I don't know how to do so. I live in Saudi Arabia and here they require 5 years of full-time job experience in a certain field to become a certified translator in one field only even if you have a bachelor degree in translation! It's just impossible.

Is there any
... See more
Hello

I am new here so I hope I'm posting this in the right forum.

I am a very good translator&interpreter and I've been working for almost 3 years now. I want to become a certified translator but I don't know how to do so. I live in Saudi Arabia and here they require 5 years of full-time job experience in a certain field to become a certified translator in one field only even if you have a bachelor degree in translation! It's just impossible.

Is there any way I can get this certification online? Since ,unfortunately, I can't travel to take this exam I'm a new mom and it's just impossible for me to travel to any country for this test.

Please if you know any reliable body that provides this certification let me know.

Thank you in advance
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:39
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
What do you mean by certification? Apr 15, 2016

I don't have an answer for you, but plenty of us do very well without translation-specific diplomas. Are you missing out on a lot of opportunities because you don't have the right papers?

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 06:39
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
On sworn/certified translators Apr 16, 2016

Sworn/certified translators rely on a LAW - or the lack thereof - to exist.