German legal translation courses / certificates?
Thread poster: Andrew Slusher
Andrew Slusher
Andrew Slusher  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:57
German to English
May 1, 2016

Hello all,

I am still quite new to translating. Finding myself working with more general texts, with the occasional field-specific job, has given me a solid awareness of the industry overall. At this point, I am looking to transition to a more professional approach to translating, and I would like to develop towards specializing in legal texts.

I intend to take some courses in my home city to further my understanding of American law. After some googling and forum searc
... See more
Hello all,

I am still quite new to translating. Finding myself working with more general texts, with the occasional field-specific job, has given me a solid awareness of the industry overall. At this point, I am looking to transition to a more professional approach to translating, and I would like to develop towards specializing in legal texts.

I intend to take some courses in my home city to further my understanding of American law. After some googling and forum searching, however, I am left without any leads on specific coursework that might leave me more qualified and credentialed for working with legal texts from German into English. In particular, I am hoping to find anything offered as distance-learning online, as circumstance would not allow me to travel for months to complete a course in situ at a German university.

Would anyone happen to have any suggestions in this vein? I am seeking options to both build my knowledge and to demonstrate this to potential clients. Thank you in advance.
Collapse

Rita Translator
Rita Translator  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 13:57
German to English
BDÜ May 2, 2016