Ayoub Hassan
Ayoub Hassan  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 19:12
English to Hindi
+ ...
Aug 1, 2016

Hello

I've been in the Translation field, working mostly as a File Engineer for 9+ yrs now. I'm looking to get myself certified by SDL through Proz, as a PM. I'd like to know everything you guys can tell me about. How do I get started as a Freelance Project Manager, and where do I begin to look once I get certified.

I'll keep this short and discuss as I get any reply.

Thanks a lot. Cheers!
Ayoub Hassan Adur

aedw88
aedw88
Local time: 14:42
French to English
+ ...
Go for it, but freelance? Aug 25, 2016

Hi there

In the company where you work, do they hire freelance project managers? Personally I didn't know this was done practice (I've been working in translation companies for 5+ years - with some remote project managers but they're hired by an agency on a permanent contract).

Project management certification in Trados will certainly give you a boost, but if you REALLY want to up your game, look at the project management qualifications out there like PMP which are cov
... See more
Hi there

In the company where you work, do they hire freelance project managers? Personally I didn't know this was done practice (I've been working in translation companies for 5+ years - with some remote project managers but they're hired by an agency on a permanent contract).

Project management certification in Trados will certainly give you a boost, but if you REALLY want to up your game, look at the project management qualifications out there like PMP which are coveted and will show an employer that you can make the jump from engineering to PM'ing swiftly and painlessly. This is seemingly becoming more popular.