Clara Chassany  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 16:28
Member (2012)
Finnish to French
+ ...
Aug 8, 2016

Hi,

I have been a freelance translator in Spain for 5 years and I am considering moving to Finland. (I am half Finnish so I have the finnish nationality.)

Does anyone know what are the steps to follow to start working as a freelance translator in Finland?

Is anyone able to tell me what percentage of my income would go for taxes, social security, etc? I find it very hard to find concrete information about taxes for a freelance worker and I would like to ha
... See more
Hi,

I have been a freelance translator in Spain for 5 years and I am considering moving to Finland. (I am half Finnish so I have the finnish nationality.)

Does anyone know what are the steps to follow to start working as a freelance translator in Finland?

Is anyone able to tell me what percentage of my income would go for taxes, social security, etc? I find it very hard to find concrete information about taxes for a freelance worker and I would like to have an idea of my net income compared to Spain...

Also, if you have advice about the best status for a translator I am all ears (I have read about toiminimi, which sounds like the closest status to a freelance here and Eezy.fi, I wonder which is the most interesting for a small translator)

Thanks in advance for any contribution!!
Collapse

Pete in Finland
Pete in Finland
Finland
English to Finnish
+ ...
Taxes Aug 9, 2016

Let's say your annual turnover is 36,000 euros. Your taxable income might then be something like 30,000 euros. In that case you would have to pay (depending on your particular circumstances) something like 6,500 euros in taxes. So, in this income bracket, your overall tax rate would be roughly 22%. Finland, however, has a progressive tax rate. If your taxable income is, say, 50,000 euros, your tax rate will not be 22%, but much higher, maybe something like 30-35%.

In addition, as a
... See more