Off topic: Moving from Spain to the U.S, how do I start looking for translation job offers? and where to start?
Thread poster: Virginia Alvarez Rodriguez
Virginia Alvarez Rodriguez
Virginia Alvarez Rodriguez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:53
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 30, 2016

Hello,

I am studying a masters in translation in Spain, since that is where I´m from. After it I want to take a course in medical translation because its my passion, but it is possible that next year I'll be moving to the U.S and even though I have been looking, I am unable to find any information about translation jobs, translation agencies or companies where I could send my resume to.

Thank you, any advise or information would be appreciated.

Virginia

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 08:53
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Have you looked here? Dec 2, 2016

Virginia Alvarez wrote:
I am studying a masters in translation in Spain, since that is where I´m from. After it I want to take a course in medical translation because its my passion, but it is possible that next year I'll be moving to the U.S and even though I have been looking, I am unable to find any information about translation jobs, translation agencies or companies where I could send my resume to.

This site - ProZ.com - has a directory of agencies and other outsourcers. That has to be a very good base for your searches. I doubt very much that you'll find salaried translation jobs in America, though. Personally, I wouldn't restrict myself to agencies physically present in the US. We find our clients online; they send files by email or file transfer; we send invoices by email or through interfaces; payment can often be made electronically. There are a few practical problems to be aware of when dealing with "foreign" clients, but they can all be overcome. I certainly don't see it as a problem in my business. I rarely send two invoices to the same country in a month .

DarwinE