Thread poster: Maverick Blanton
Maverick Blanton
Maverick Blanton
Switzerland
Local time: 07:08
French to English
Mar 6, 2019

Hi, everyone!

I'm relatively new to ProZ and to the translation market in general, so I apologize if this question is either inane or constantly being asked. However, I was hoping to get some advice from any non-EU translators currently working in France on how to best start my career there.

For a bit of context, I'm currently in my last semester of a master's in French to English translation at the FTI in Geneva, and for various personal reasons I'd really like to s
... See more
Hi, everyone!

I'm relatively new to ProZ and to the translation market in general, so I apologize if this question is either inane or constantly being asked. However, I was hoping to get some advice from any non-EU translators currently working in France on how to best start my career there.

For a bit of context, I'm currently in my last semester of a master's in French to English translation at the FTI in Geneva, and for various personal reasons I'd really like to start working in France in the fall (just to specify, I'm American). I've read a lot in the past that a great way to get started in the industry is to work for a translation agency; however, most of the research I've been doing also seems to imply that most translation agencies in France (if not the rest of the world) prefer to contract work out to freelance translators. Going the freelance route from the start, however, feels pretty daunting, especially in terms of financial success and obtaining a work visa. As a result, I was wondering if it wouldn't be a better idea to look for a position in something else (i.e. teaching English with my TEFL certification) while building a client base on the side, especially since my goal is just to stay in the country. Is that a reasonable step to take, or should I focus on becoming a translator straight away? Will there even be any sort of work out there for me?