Sarah Maidstone
Sarah Maidstone  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:09
Member (2020)
German to English
+ ...
Mar 6, 2020

This is going to sound like a daft question, but I'm not sure how best to accurately reflect my years of experience in my profile. I'm also unsure of how much this matters, as in, is this a criterion used by outsourcers when searching?

After graduation, I worked as a staff translator for two years and a technical writer for a further two years. I then continued to work and study for a further 18 years, including studying in my target language and working in my source language. At th
... See more
This is going to sound like a daft question, but I'm not sure how best to accurately reflect my years of experience in my profile. I'm also unsure of how much this matters, as in, is this a criterion used by outsourcers when searching?

After graduation, I worked as a staff translator for two years and a technical writer for a further two years. I then continued to work and study for a further 18 years, including studying in my target language and working in my source language. At the beginning of this year, I returned to translation as a freelancer (I know, not the best time to be getting into the industry).

My question is firstly, does it matter at all? If not, I could just leave the field in my profile blank.

If it does matter, do I enter just my translating experience, or translating and writing (I also offer writing services), or do I include all or some of the time that I was working in industry using both languages on a daily basis (although I fully realise that working in two languages and actually translating are not the same thing)?

I'd be grateful for your opinions!
Collapse

Lincoln Hui
Lincoln Hui  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 08:09
Chinese to English
+ ...
Whatever benefits you the most Mar 6, 2020

As long as you're not outright lying, no one can fault you for using the earliest starting date that you can get.