Would you apply to the same agency again, if you didn't heard from them in the last time?
Thread poster: Wai Hin Lee
Wai Hin Lee
Wai Hin Lee
Hong Kong
Local time: 21:57
Member (2020)
English to Chinese
+ ...
May 8, 2020

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. Greetings to you all.

I started freelancing in August last year. I was a news translator and editor before that, but as I didn't work for or work with translation agencies, I see myself as a newbie in this industry. Starting out, I apply to many agencies, have got a few clients now, and passed two units in DipTrans recently (didn't get the full Diploma unfortunately).

I am still eager to look for more clients, and found out th
... See more
Hello everyone, this is my first post here. Greetings to you all.

I started freelancing in August last year. I was a news translator and editor before that, but as I didn't work for or work with translation agencies, I see myself as a newbie in this industry. Starting out, I apply to many agencies, have got a few clients now, and passed two units in DipTrans recently (didn't get the full Diploma unfortunately).

I am still eager to look for more clients, and found out that one of the agencies I applied to when I just start out is still placing ads to recruit freelancers. When I first applied, I did a short test translation, and the recruiter never replied afterwards.

Now, with a little more experience under my belt, I wonder if I should apply again to the agency. As the agency is located in my city and have good rates on blueboard, I think that it may worth a second try. Would you apply to the same agency again in this situation? Thank you in advance.

[Edited at 2020-05-08 20:19 GMT]
Collapse

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 13:57
Danish to English
+ ...
Did they receive the test translation? May 8, 2020

Did they receive the test translation? Occasionally a spam filter gobbles up everything you send to an agency.