which one is the most urgent: acquiring accreditation or buying platinum membership
Thread poster: Abdul Karim (X)
Abdul Karim (X)
Abdul Karim (X)
English to Indonesian
+ ...
Jul 24, 2002

I am a new freelancer of English>Indonesian, and, thank God very much, I have win my FIRST international job (around 4000 source words).

It raises my self-confidence, and I want to make it higher (and in order to win jobs more frequent). Unfortunately, I do not know what I have to do.

Should I increase my membership into Premium/Platinum (I\'m a non-paying member of Proz.com) or acquire a Certification (eg. NAATI, ATA)?

MikeGarcia
MikeGarcia  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:35
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
A suggestion Jul 24, 2002

Abdul:I would say both, plus trying to get as much kudoz points as you can possibly get,so as to show your experience and professionalism, as well as making yourself known between your pairs.

Kind regards from Argentina.
[addsig]

Russell Gillis
Russell Gillis  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:35
Spanish to English
Get your accreditation first. Jul 25, 2002

I can tell you from personal experience that I have received many small jobs through my accreditation, which came as a result of references from other colleagues and through my translators\' association.

On the other hand, I look at many people with Platinum memberships, and they have yet to get a job from this site. Unfortunately, many of the jobs go to the lowest bidder, and many paying members aren\'t interested in getting into bidding wars.

When it
... See more
I can tell you from personal experience that I have received many small jobs through my accreditation, which came as a result of references from other colleagues and through my translators\' association.