Thread poster: Maria Knorr
Maria Knorr
Maria Knorr
Local time: 09:13
English
+ ...
Oct 8, 2002

Hello,

I am currently a freelancer but I was thinking (for quite a while now) that I would like to form my own agency. What I want to know is if there is someone out there can give me reall adivce on how that\'s done - not the legal side of it but everything else: how do you find freelancer, contracts, etc.

Thanks

Maria

Monika Coulson
Monika Coulson  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:13
Member (2001)
English to Albanian
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Have you thought of Oct 8, 2002

... franchising? It might be easier as far as contracts, maybe database, advertising etc.

Just an idea.

Monika

Konstantin Lakshin
Konstantin Lakshin  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:13
Member (2017)
English to Russian
+ ...
Why? Oct 9, 2002

If you want to work for direct clients and charge higher rates, just go for it. It\'s not against the law. No need to set up shop as a translation company.

I have not seen a client yet who would care whether they dealt with a company or an individual as long as they get the results.

True, every now and then corporate clients start looking for universal solutions and switch to outlets offering \"all languages\". But this is not about agencies vs. freela
... See more
If you want to work for direct clients and charge higher rates, just go for it. It\'s not against the law. No need to set up shop as a translation company.

I have not seen a client yet who would care whether they dealt with a company or an individual as long as they get the results.

True, every now and then corporate clients start looking for universal solutions and switch to outlets offering \"all languages\". But this is not about agencies vs. freelances.

So, why in the world would you want to become an agency?
Collapse

Maria Knorr
Maria Knorr
Local time: 09:13
English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Offering more Oct 9, 2002

Quote:

Thanks to everybody who replied.