Which CAT tool is a better investment for a new translator?
Thread poster: Maria Forsyth
Maria Forsyth
Maria Forsyth
English to Spanish
Mar 3, 2003

Hello, I am new in the translation word, and I wouold like to invest in a CAT tool that would help me with different translation projects. I plan to work as a freelancer and get jobs independently as well as jobs from agencies. I would like to ask the more experienced colleagues about their opinions on industry standard software. I heard Trados is the industry standard, but I have also heard that DejaVu\'s features might be better than Trados\' ones. These CAT tools are pretty expensive, so ... See more
Hello, I am new in the translation word, and I wouold like to invest in a CAT tool that would help me with different translation projects. I plan to work as a freelancer and get jobs independently as well as jobs from agencies. I would like to ask the more experienced colleagues about their opinions on industry standard software. I heard Trados is the industry standard, but I have also heard that DejaVu\'s features might be better than Trados\' ones. These CAT tools are pretty expensive, so I would like opinions from people who have been doing this for a while. Thanks a lot, I appreciate all your comments and help.

Collapse

Michael Bastin
Michael Bastin  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:57
English to French
+ ...
Wordfast Mar 4, 2003

That\'s my personal choice. Good, fast, nice features and unexpensive. It is fully compatible with Trados.

But other translators will have a different opinion.

Bruno Capitelli
Bruno Capitelli  Identity Verified
English to Italian
+ ...
SDLX Mar 4, 2003

I agrre with Tayfun, you can watch in the CAT Tools section of this site.

However my personal choice is SDLX

it\'s a reliable tool, weel known in the translation environment and it costs much less than Trados

Bruno

Marc P (X)
Marc P (X)  Identity Verified
German to English
+ ...
Try OmegaT Mar 4, 2003

Hi Maria,