Ana Rita Simões
Ana Rita Simões  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 10:15
Member (2009)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jun 3, 2008

I have started my translator career just a couple of years ago, and I've only became a full time translator some months ago, so I'm still a rookie.

I've always been a translator and never did an interpreting job, but I was asked to do one tomorrow - aparently it's quite simple, only for one hour, in which basically I have to be around in case someone wants to talk with the Italian visitor. I was told it won't be technical and it will be +/- an informal situation, but still... I'm be
... See more
I have started my translator career just a couple of years ago, and I've only became a full time translator some months ago, so I'm still a rookie.

I've always been a translator and never did an interpreting job, but I was asked to do one tomorrow - aparently it's quite simple, only for one hour, in which basically I have to be around in case someone wants to talk with the Italian visitor. I was told it won't be technical and it will be +/- an informal situation, but still... I'm beginning to get a little nervous :S

I'm used to do it when my boyfriend visits my family in Portugal (he's Italian), and even if this is different, I think it will help me somehow. But I'm too perfectionist and too afraid of making mistakes: what if I don't understand what someone says, what if I can't find the right word to translate it?

How was your first interpreting experience? Were you also afraid of making mistakes? Did something go wrong, and if so, how did you deal with it?
Collapse

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:15
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Probably OK Jun 3, 2008