Regina Freitag
Regina Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:25
English to German
+ ...
Jul 7, 2008

Dear all,

I work as a translator in South-England (both employed and freelance, German diploma for English and Italian) and would like to make an interpreting degree for English-German.
I would appreciate any advice regarding classes/ colleges or other courses, which I could attend as a professional with fixed working hours from 9 to 5. Or could I just prepare myself at home and sit the exam? I attended a lot of interpreting classes at Uni, both simultaneous and consecutive,
... See more
Dear all,

I work as a translator in South-England (both employed and freelance, German diploma for English and Italian) and would like to make an interpreting degree for English-German.
I would appreciate any advice regarding classes/ colleges or other courses, which I could attend as a professional with fixed working hours from 9 to 5. Or could I just prepare myself at home and sit the exam? I attended a lot of interpreting classes at Uni, both simultaneous and consecutive, but we had to choose between a degree in translation or a degree in interpreting and I chose the former then. It would be great if you could give me some info about the costs as well.

Thanks a lot!

Regina

[Edited at 2008-07-07 12:37]
Collapse

Williamson
Williamson  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:25
Flemish to English
+ ...
Westminster, Leeds and Bath... Jul 7, 2008

As far as I know, there is the EMCI at Westminster which comes with a price tag of £4000 (postgraduate) or £6500 if you do a masters, the interpreter training at Leeds University and the training at Bath, with both a price tag of £4000.
Unlike their counterparts on the European mainland, which take two years, these trainings take one year and are pretty intensive.
There are no interpreter trainings after 5 p.m. Most trainers are freelance interpreters, who earn a fixed income by g
... See more